Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition Impressions [UPDATE]

Just a quick update on my progress on the Definitive Edition of  Tomb Raider.  Even though I had beaten the PS3 version (100% on the single player campaign), I still find myself enjoying Lara’s rebooted adventure.  It’s actually a bit fun now, as I’m just really toying with the NPC’s, even with Lara’s low skill level at this point in the game.  Anyway, I find the graphics to be great, and it does add another layer of challenge to the game.  Early on in the game, with the weather ravaging and slowing Lara’s progress, with blinding lightning, and rain drops filling the screen, it makes for an added element of hardship, and it makes you feel like you are there.

I mentioned before the jungle seems more livelier on this version as opposed to the PS3 or even the PC version on ultimate.  Lara’s clothes also seemed more detailed.  These are just initial findings though.  I need to catch up on the PC version to see more and do a better comparison graphically.  The few little things that they added to the PS4 version is a nice touch, like using the Dual Shock 4’s speakers for foot steps, gun fire, and other arbitrary sound effects.  It’s not much, but it somehow add’s a lot.  I notice the sound effects sound a bit better.  Once I get my capture rig going again, I’ll post more video’s of all 3 versions.  For now I leave you with some screen shots done via the PS4’s share button.  I did adjust them slightly for clarity.

Lighting effects are great

Lighting effects are great

Facial detail is absolutely stunning

Facial detail is absolutely stunning

Bfvl7wxIgAAGe9A

Nice textures on her hand wrap

Nice textures on her hand wrap

She really needs a day in the spa She really needs a day in the sp

Leave a comment